Broadcasting students claim statewide honors

University of Indianapolis student broadcasters have claimed numerous awards in the 2013 Indiana Association of School Broadcasters College Broadcasting Competition.

Sophomore Kayla Sullivan took first place in the Television Anchor category, as did senior Heather Good in Television Newscast. Both are majoring in Communication with a concentration in Electronic Media, a program that gives students hands-on experience at UIndy’s WICR-FM/HD public radio station and the UIndy TV5 cable channel.

Other recognition included:

Second Place

Radio Imaging – Christen Beltz, Derrick Lowhorn and Tyson Conrady

Radio Air Personality – Jason Newhouse

Radio Interview – Jared Boomer

Television News Package – Samantha Stratton

Television Non-News Program – Clayton Abbott


Third Place

Radio Copywriting – Spring Devine and Adrienne Mosley

Radio Interview – Colin Bowles

Music Video – Clayton Abbott

Video Magazine – Trevor Cox

Copywriting – Heather Schwartz