Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Faculty Artist Concert Series: Indianapolis Baroque Orchestra presents From Concerto (Grosso) to Symphony

This event has ended

November 6, 2022 at 4:00 P.M.
Ruth Lilly Performance Hall, Christel DeHaan Fine Arts Center

The Indianapolis Baroque Orchestra’s concerts at the Faculty Artist Concert Series are free to members of the UIndy campus community.  All other patrons may purchase tickets here:

Orchestra patrons have always taken pride and pleasure in having their most prominent players shine in public—this applies to IBO as well!—and the audience greatly enjoyed hearing them. From around 1700, concertos for one or more soloists with orchestra rose to prevalence throughout Europe, often based upon the great examples of Arcangelo Corelli and Antonio Vivaldi. During his time in London in the early 18th century, G.F. Handel composed Concerto Grosso Op. 6, No. 6 in G Minor, which features a small group of two violins and cello in contrast with the full orchestra. In the middle of the 18th century, Johann Gottlieb Graun wrote for a quartet of soloists, including flute, violin, viola da gamba, and cello, in Concerto Grosso in G Major. At the time, Berlin was the only German city where the viola da gamba, an instrument more usually associated with France, was held in high esteem. Franz Benda, the great Berlin violin virtuoso, mostly wrote for one solo violin or flute, as is featured in Concerto in E Minor. As the century progressed, the fashion of the concerti grossi decayed in favor of symphonies, which often required greater virtuosity from the whole orchestra. In the case of his 1773 Hamburg symphonies, C.P.E. Bach was encouraged by the Viennese commissioner Van Swieten to write freely, without avoiding any difficulties—this is exactly what he did! We therefore conclude From Concerto (Grosso) to Symphony with C.P.E. Bach’s Symphony in C Major.

After a two-year hiatus, we are so pleased to welcome IBO Artistic Director Barthold Kuijken back to Indianapolis to lead this program. The concerti in this program will feature IBO principal players Adriane Post (violin), Martie Perry(violin), Erica Rubis (viola da gamba) and Anna Steinhoff (cello). 

Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 6 in G Minor | G.F. Handel
Concerto Grosso in G Major | Johann Gottlieb Graun
Concerto in E Minor | Franz Benda
Symphony in C Major | C.P.E. Bach