Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

UIndy Alumni Association Recognizes Alumni at Annual Honors and Recognition Dinner

The University of Indianapolis Alumni Association hosted their annual Alumni Honors and Recognition Dinner on Thursday, May 12. During the dinner, the University and Alumni Board of Directors honored UIndy graduates who have had exceptional success and service to their society. 

“Alumni are living the University’s motto, “Education for service,” across the globe,” said Andy Kocher ‘98 ‘15, vice president for corporate and community partnerships at the University. “From classrooms, to board rooms, to places of worship, to medical facilities and more, our alumni are leading the world through some of the most difficult times in recent memory. While we celebrate these eight amazing individuals, we take this moment to honor all of our alumni for their impact.”

The following alumni received awards:

Dr. Larry Swift ‘67 (Chemistry), professor of pathology, microbiology and immunology, emeritus, at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine received the Distinguished Alumni Award

Dr. Larry Swift joined the faculty at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in the 1970s. After 50 years of full-time service, he authored and co-authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications, numerous abstracts, and presented his work at numerous national conferences. Dr. Swift also distinguished himself through community service and has had a longstanding affiliation with the American Heart Association.

April Wolcott Shin ‘13 (Elementary Education), assistant principal of SENSE charter school, received the Distinguished Young Alumni Award

April Wolcott Shin has always loved being an educator. Her mission is to see that her students not only receive a good education but also have a safe place to go. She has coordinated a neighborhood project to restore homes; organized community events to collect food, hygiene items, and toys; led art and cultural First Friday events to benefit her school; served as the activities and social coordinator at her church; presented lectures on Trauma-Informed Care at universities; and served on young leadership panels to mentor upcoming graduates.

Nichole Wilson ‘02 ‘06 (Physical Therapy), vice president of community health operations at Indiana University Health, and Corey Wilson, vice president of community engagement at Indiana Pacers Sports and Entertainment, both received the Gene and Joanne Sease Award

Nichole Wilson serves the community through board and civic involvement with the Indy Public Safety Foundation, African American Legacy Fund of Indianapolis, Madam Walker Legacy Center and more. Even with her busy schedule, she finds time to continue to speak with current and prospective UIndy students, sharing the important role UIndy played in her success. 

While not an alumnus, Corey Wilson is a Greyhound at heart. He served six years at the University where he was the Vice President of the Sease Institute, Special Advisor to the President for External Affairs and led the creation of the Professional Edge Center 

Jerry Roush, chief executive officer of Roush Insurance Services, received the Honorary Alumni Award.

Jerry Roush has a strong affection for UIndy, our students, and music faculty. While he doesn’t have an alma mater, he considers himself to be a Greyhound. He has quietly supported international travel opportunities for music students and helped create the UIndy Guitar Concert Series, which brings international artists of the highest caliber to UIndy.

Brittany Dyer ‘09 (Elementary Education), associate director of the Stephen F. Fry Professional Edge Center, received the Distinguished Faculty and Staff Award.

Brittany Dyer worked as a teacher for seven years before returning to UIndy in 2016 in the Stephen F. Fry Professional Edge Center. Her skills as an educator aligned perfectly with UIndy students who were exploring or changing majors. While her calendar is full every day, she always has time to lend a hand to a student or colleague in need. She is the definition of someone committed to serving others.

Dr. Sam Young ‘64 (Pre-Theology), retired minister, received the Education for Service Award.

Dr. Sam Young has served in religious ministry for over 50 years. He has served as a pastor and minister to churches in Fort Wayne, Huntington, Anderson, Logansport, Bargersville, Lebanon, and in our University Heights community.

The University of Indianapolis Alumni Association would like to commend all alumni who have carried on the University’s dedication to education for service and stayed connected to the strong community the University has developed both on-campus and across the state. 

If you know an outstanding alumna/us that deserves to be honored, nominate them for next year’s awards here.