Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Students recognized for leadership and service

senior awards 2015

Vice President and Dean of Students Kory Vitangeli, left, presents leadership awards during Sunday’s eighth annual Recognition Banquet in UIndy Hall.

Students and campus organizations that have distinguished themselves through service and leadership were honored Sunday night at the eighth annual Recognition Banquet in Schwitzer Student Center’s UIndy Hall.

Among the awards presented was the Outstanding Senior Leadership Award, recognizing 10 members of the Class of 2015 nominated by faculty, staff and fellow students for their selfless contributions both on and off campus throughout their time at UIndy. This year’s recipients, along with their hometowns and fields of study, are:

Brooke Boyts, Goshen, Pre-Art Therapy/Psychology
Boyts has been a resident assistant, research assistant, peer leader, admissions representative, student-athlete and active volunteer.

Hayley Good, Valencia, Calif., Communication
Good has served as Student Athlete Advisory Committee President, student ambassador, board member for several campus organizations and account manager for the student-run PR agency Top Dog Communications.

Elizabeth Hale, Brownsburg, Master of Business Administration
Hale has served in multiple internships and has been a peer tutor and active member of Biz Hounds, Student Business Leadership Academy and the Circle K service group.

Anthony Jackson, Indianapolis, Psychology
Jackson has been active in UIndy PRIDE, the Crimson Express and Voices of Worship choral groups and also has served as a peer leader and an Alternative Spring Break service site leader.

Stephanie Kalili, Waianae, Hawaii, Global Leadership
Kalili has taken part in numerous service projects and served as a resident assistant, president of College Mentors for Kids, peer leader and member of UIndy PRIDE.

Tyler Offutt, Evansville, Marketing
Offutt was this year’s Indianapolis Student Government president and also has served as a presidential assistant while working off-campus in social media and marketing roles for Radio Disney, the Indiana Bar Foundation and Loxa Beauty.

Sarah Page, Bargersville, Music Performance
Page has been a member of Honors College, president of Mu Phi Epsilon music fraternity, an active service and outreach volunteer and an internationally performing violinist.

Tybytha Ryan, Washington, Social Work/Psychology
Ryan has undertaken multiple internships and served as a resident assistant, an officer for College Mentors for Kids, and a member of the Psi Chi, Phi Alpha, Phi Alpha Epsilon and Alpha Chi honor societies.

Regina Spielmann, Aurora, Marketing
Spielmann has served as an orientation guide, senior class co-chair and an officer and president of Campus Program Board, among other activities.

Cory Unthank, Clarksville, Religion
Unthank has been a chapel steward, Threshold leader, active service volunteer and an intern with Hope 61, a local group that fights human trafficking.

Other award winners at Sunday night’s Recognition Banquet included:

  • Student Organization of the Year – College Mentors for Kids
  • Outstanding Student Leader of the Year – Michael Rheinheimer
  • Outstanding Student Volunteer – Evan Wadsworth