Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

The Reflector staff win 22 statewide, 3 regional awards


Congratulations to the students of The Reflector and The Reflector Online, who won a total of 22 Indiana Collegiate Press Association state-level journalism awards on Saturday, April 7.  Judges were out-of-state media professionals, and the awards were announced at the ICPA annual convention in Indianapolis.

The following students won awards: 

  • Staff of The Reflector, Newspaper of the Year, Second Place
  • Staff of The Reflector, Best Single Issue, Second Place, November 8 Issue
  • Zoë Berg, Best Feature Page, First Place, February 8 Issue
  • Cassie Reverman, Best Feature Photo, Second Place, “‘Frankenstein’ Takes Stage for Novel’s 200th Anniversary”
  • Maia Gibson, Best Non-Deadline News Story, First Place, “Daniel Daudu Remembered”
  • Staff of The Reflector, Best Staff Editorial, Second Place, “The Fourth Estate Will Not Be Silenced”
  • Andy Carr, Best Review, Second Place, “Kingsman: The Golden Circle Review”
  • Sophie Watson, Best Sports Page, Second Place, November 8 Issue
  • Erik Cliburn, Best Sports News Story, First Place, “King’s Career High Not Enough for Win over Parkside”
  • Kylee Crane, Best Sports News Story, Third Place, “Wrestling Wins Regional Meet by One Point”
  • Tony Lain, Best Sports Column, Third Place, “TV Ratings Are Misleading: MLB Isn’t Back”
  • Juliana Rohrmoser, Best Sports Photo, First Place, “Football Keeps Breaking Records”
  • Juliana Rohrmoser, Best Sports Photo, Second Place, “Football Ends Historic Season with Playoff Loss”
  • Andy Carr, Best Editorial Cartoon, First Place, “U.S. South Battered and Bruised”
  • Andy Carr and Hanna McClard, Best Editorial Cartoon, Third Place, “Hacked Gamer”
  • Juliana Rohrmoser, Best Informational Graphic, Second Place, “Travel Ban Impacts UIndy Community”
  • Andy Carr and Madison Hays, Best Illustration, Third Place, “Record Radius”
  • Cassie Reverman, Online, Best Video, Second Place, “Preseason Work Underway for UIndy Athletics”
  • Alexis Stella, Online, Best Animation/Interactive Graphic, Third Place, “Alcohol Codes Timeline”
  • Andy Carr, Advertising, Best Display Ad, Second Place, “Holiday with the Hounds”
  • Zoë Berg, Advertising, Best Black and White Display Ad, Third Place, “Trailer Park Boy”
  • Andy Carr, Advertising, Best Full Color Display Ad, Third Place, “Holiday with the Hounds”


The Reflector and The Reflector Online have won three regional-level journalism awards in the Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence competition.  Region 5 includes colleges and universities in the states of Indiana, Illinois and Kentucky.   First-place winners will compete at the national level among other regional MOE winners from the 12 SPJ regions. Entries were judged by media professionals, and the awards were announced at a ceremony during the regional conference, April 6-7, in Chicago, Illinois.  The first-place winner will go on to compete at the national level among other regional MOE winners from the 12 SPJ regions.

These students won awards:

  • Andy Carr, Editorial Cartooning, Winner, “Trophy Hunting,” “U.S. South Battered and Bruised,” and “Gamer Trump”
  • Andy Carr and Erik Cliburn, Photo Illustration, Finalist, “Music Festival Showcases Local, Regional and National Talents”
  • Cassie Reverman, Feature Photography, Finalist, “‘Frankenstein’ Takes Stage for Novel’s 200th Anniversary”