Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Reflector Named ICPA Newspaper of the Year

Reflector staff poses with awards from 2023 ICPA Awards

The Reflector recently attended Indiana Collegiate Press Association Awards where it was named Division II Newspaper of the Year. The paper also received 27 total state-level awards, on Saturday, April 1, at the convention in Indianapolis on the IUPUI campus. This was the second consecutive year that The Reflector has won ICPA’s highest award for Division II newspapers. “The students’ hard work and dedication to quality journalism is exemplary,” said Reflector faculty advisor Jeanne Criswell. “And the support of the UIndy community makes such successes possible.” The following Reflector students won awards across a broad range of categories:  

  1. Staff of The Reflector, Division II Newspaper of the Year, First Place, The Reflector
  2. Staff of The Reflector, Best Single Issue, Second Place, Dec. 14, 2022
  3. Olivia Cameron, Best News Story, Second Place, “Students with Disabilities Want More Recognition from UIndy”
  4. Anika Yoder, Best In-Depth Story, Third Place, “Reflecting on the History and Contributions of Indigenous Peoples”
  5. Hannah Biedess, Best Feature Story, Second Place, “Freshman Starts a Brading Business on Campus”
  6. Hallie Gallinat, Best Entertainment Story, First Place, “Guest Director Presents ‘The Last Days of Judas Iscariot'”
  7. Connor Mahoney, Best Sports News Story, Second Place, “UIndy Football Wins the GLVC Championship at Key Stadium”
  8. MaKenna Maschino, Best Sports News Story, Third Place, “UIndy Football’s Toriano Clinton Breaks Records”
  9. Giselle Valentin, Kiara Conley, Best Sports Feature Story, Third Place, “From UIndy to ESPN, a Look at Vanessa Richardson’s Career”
  10. Kassandra Darnell, Staff of The Reflector, Best Staff Editorial, First Place, “L/P Credits Should Be Adjusted to Benefit Students in Wake of the Pandemic”
  11. Arrianna Gupton, Staff of The Reflector, Best Staff Editorial, Second Place, “The Reflector‘s Birthday” 
  12. Mia Lehmkuhl, Best Entertainment Column, First Place, “She Said” Movie Review
  13. Olivia Cameron, Best Entertainment Column, Second Place, “Bodies Bodies Bodies”
  14. Lindsey Wormuth, MaKenna Maschino, Best Sports Column, First Place, “Celebrating Women’s History Month: Female Student-Athletes Share Their Stories”
  15. Hannah Hadley, Best Front Page Design, Third Place, Oct. 12, 2022
  16. Connor Mahoney, Best Sports Page Design, Second Place, Dec. 14, 2022
  17. Connor Mahoney, Best Sports Page Design, Third Place, Oct. 12, 2022
  18. Staff of The Reflector, Best Overall Design, First Place, Nov. 22, 2022
  19. Jacob Walton, Best Feature Photo, First Place, “Jon Colby”
  20. Kalenga Juma, Best Feature Photo, Second Place, “Braiding Business”
  21. MaKenna Maschino, Best Sports Photography, Third Place, “Women’s Basketball”
  22. Olivia Cameron, Best Informational Graphic, Second Place, “Storytelling in Navajo Culture”
  23. Olivia Cameron, Best Illustration, First Place, “Elements of Mindfulness”
  24. Olivia Cameronn, Best Illustration, Second Place, “Diwali Illustration”
  25. Breanna Emmett, Best Editorial Cartoon, “First Day of School”
  26. Staff of The Reflector, Best General Media Kit/Marketing, Third Place, Reflector Media Kit
  27. Staff of The Reflector, Best Online Overall Website, First Place, The Reflector Online
Reflector staff poses with Newspaper of the Year Award